Electronics-Related.com
Forums

Behringer BXL1800A Ultrabass Amplifier

Started by Rayonthetrack 7 years ago6 replieslatest reply 6 years ago703 views

Hey Guys,

I am an amateur electronics hobbyist working on a repair to this bass amp. The problem when I initially received the amp was the output sounding from the speaker was very distorted. Shortly after playing on it to diagnose the sound, the output to the speaker completely cutout. My first thought was possible blown speaker. After physical inspection and checking the impedance the speaker aced the test. So then, I figured there surely is something wrong with the preamp section because I know that failing op-amps can cause the signal to distortion or regardless encounter more of less THD. To rule out if the preamp was failing, figuring if its not making it to the Speaker it surely won’t make it’s way to the output connectors. Well I ran both the TR/S and XLR direct outputs into my mixer and seen signal a clean as a whistle. Next I check the headphone amp, Heard the input 100% you would expect it. At this point I felt the preamp board may not have the issue that causing the speaker not to generate the output signal. On to the power amp board!